Dashboards User Guide

Visualize, monitor, and share with dashboards.

Visualize your data in Metricly with dashboards. You can use the default, pre-packaged integration dashboards or create and customize your own using widgets.

Manage Dashboards

You can copy, create, edit, share, and favorite dashboards in Metricly.

To view and edit your dashboards:

  1. Click on Dashboards in the main menu.
    Or
  2. Navigate to Dashboards > Manage Dashboards.
Default dashboards come with each integration to help you get started. These dashboards are copyable templates that show our recommendations. These default dashboards are not editable.
Copy a Dashboard

A quick and easy way to create a customized dashboard is to copy a defaulted one and edit it.

  1. Navigate to Dashboards > Select Dashboard Name.
  2. Click on the Blue Cog > Copy.
    How to Copy a Dashboard
  3. Rename the Dashboard.
  4. Edit the widgets by clicking > Settings or Delete.
Create a New Dashboard
  1. Navigate to Dashboards on the main navigation menu.
  2. Click New Dashboard.
  3. Type a name for the dashboard.
  4. Click Save.
    You’ll be taken to the Widget Library, where you can add a widget.

Editing Dashboards

Editing an existing dashboard can involve managing the layout of a dashboard, changing the dashboard’s settings, or manipulating the time frame setting/refresh interval.

Move Widgets

  1. Hover over the widget’s title to select. The header turns gray and your cursor is replaced with  when a widget is selected.
  2. Drag widget to desired position.

Resize Widgets

  1. Hover over a widget to select. Arrows appear in the bottom left and right corners when a widget is selected.
  2. Drag corners to resize.

Edit Dashboard’s Settings

Edit Dashboard’s Name
  1. Navigate to Dashboards > Dashboard Name.
  2. Hover over the Dashboard’s Name and click to edit.
Edit Display Mode
  1. Navigate to Dashboards > Dashboard Name.
  2. Click the Blue Cog. A modal with all display options appears.
  3. Toggle any setting active (green) to enable.
  • Shared Makes dashboard public for each of the users under a tenant; users can edit and delete the dashboard if they wish without affecting the original dashboard.
  • Fullscreen Mode:
    • Fullscreen: Fullscreen Mode makes your dashboard(s) take up the entire screen.
    • Rotate  Dashboards: If you have fullscreen mode enabled, it will only rotate through your favorite dashboards if this option is selected.
    • Rotation Period (sec): If Rotate  Dashboards is set to On, you can enable all of your dashboards to cycle through after a set number of seconds (the default is 60 seconds; the minimum is 20 seconds).
  • Theater Mode: Hides the top navigation menu.

Change Duration or Refresh Interval

Adjusting the dashboard’s Duration or Refresh Interval affects the data displayed in widgets on your dashboard.

Duration

Edit the Duration setting for the dashboard in the sub navigation menu.

  1. Choose a Duration (past) value.
  2. Select an Ending value (default is Now).
  3. The data then automatically reloads to reflect your changes.

Two widgets behave differently in regards to the Duration setting:

  • Metric Status Widget: Current Values in Metric Status widgets are not affected by the Time Frame setting. It always reflects the most recent five minutes of data.
  • Group Status Widget: Clicking the refresh button in the Time Frame will refresh the data in the Group Status widget. However, the Group Status widget always displays the most recent 5 minutes of data, regardless of the Time Frame setting.

Check out the Time Frame documentation for more information.

Refresh Interval
  1. To edit the Refresh Interval for the dashboard, click Ending Now.
  2. A modal appears with a dropdown for Refresh Interval. 

Favorite Dashboards

Favorited dashboards display as a drop-down list under Dashboards in the main top navigation menu.

Favorite a Dashboard
  1. Navigate to the Dashboard menu (or Dashboard > Manage Dashboards). A list of all the dashboards available in your tenant appears.
    List of dashboards in the dashboard menu.
  2. Click an empty star  next to a dashboard to favorite it.
Unfavorite a Dashboard

Repeat the above process and click a filled star  to unfavorite the dashboard. This removes the dashboard from your quick drop-down list in the top navigation menu.

Sharing Dashboards

You can configure a dashboard to be either public or private. By default, dashboards you create are private.

Make a Dashboard Public
  1. Navigate to the Dashboards menu.
  2. Select All Dashboards > My Dashboards. A list of the dashboards you have created appears.
    Make a dashboard public.
  3. Toggle Shared to active (green) to make the dashboard public.
Make a Dashboard Private

To make a dashboard private, repeat the above steps and toggle Shared to inactive (grey).